This Thursday’s Thought

While it might appear I’ve neglected my blog while in Australia last month, I promise you I’ve been working hard behind the scenes.

As you may well know, the most important work a writer can do is READ!

While basking in the tropical sun of Far North Queensland’s picturesque Port Douglas, I breezed through “Goodbye For Now” by Laurie Frankel and was moved to copy this down into my notebook:

“…look at all the human invention that came before us: symbols that mean things, words, a way to say them aloud, a way to write them down, something to write them down on, something to write them down with, ways to transport them from one person to another, ways to read them and reply. By rock, by parchment, by paper, by electron, via horse, car, plane, air, cloud. So much of human innovation and progress is about communication, connection, somehow spanning that unbridgeable divide between human hearts that feels like it will kill us if we cannot get across.”

in case any of you were wondering, I'd rate this one a 3.5 out of 5.

in case any of you were wondering, I’d rate this one a 3.5 out of 5.

Profound, no? It’s thoughts like these that rev my creative engine and make me proud to do what I do: spanning the unbridgeable divide between human hearts.

Happy holidays!

/jr

Thoughts?

