This Thursday’s Thought

I’ve thought a lot this week about taking risks. I’m trying to live by what my lululemon bag says: do one thing each day that scares you. 

(EDIT: I’ve just wrapped up a telephone interview for Pink Magazine with Miss Camille Munro, a Regina local who was crowned Miss World Canada 2013 and will be competing for the title of Miss World in Jakarta, Indonesia next month. In an almost serendipitous turn of events, she closed our interview with a quote I thought was too good and too fitting not to include:

Let your faith be bigger than your fears.

I love how beautifully coincidental this world is!)

Those of you who know me know I’m terrified of public gyms. It is my fear and expectation that I will be chastised, judged, laughed at… you name it, I believe it. After weathering a number of tumultuous losses already this year, I’ve tried in earnest to exert control over one thing and one thing alone: my emotions. It’s easy (and, in some ways, easier) to be owned by your emotions than to be accountable to and for them. What’s the sense in becoming the property of your anger, your hatred, or your frustration?

In the spirit of change, I’ve recently started a CrossFit boot camp with a close friend of mine (some of you in Saskatoon might know her fiance, the one-and-only, legendary CrossFit Steve!). For all of you rolling your eyes at the mere mention of CrossFit: I get it. It’s a cult. It’s a trend. And you know what? I like it! Here I stand (albeit on a couple of very sore quads) after facing my fear, and I’ve learned to frame things a little differently. Don’t let the public eye scare you; take it in stride. Let it invigorate you and motivate you to – as Bonnie Raitt said – give them something to talk about.

…did I really just quote Bonnie Raitt?

The point is that if you step outside your comfort zone – whether it’s a baby step or a frog leap – you tackle the unknown head on. I’ve learned throughout my life, but especially this year, that the fear of the unknown is often worse than the actual experience of it.

photo cred: tumblr

photo cred: tumblr

So far, the unknown has been unexpectedly good to me.

Until next week!

/jr

Thoughts?

