This Thursday’s Thought

Let’s get a little bit personal this week, shall we?

As I was combing the internet for a cover photo for my latest Rooster post about life as a mid-twentier (yes, I’m finally regaining some blogger credibility!), I found an image which turned out to be the perfect encapsulation of how I’m currently making sense of the world.

20130808-104125.jpg

It might sound cheesy, but at least it’s a nice metaphor, right?

I understand that I’ve been dragged back for some time now – both by my own doing and by things and people external to me – but what’s more important is the recognition that the only direction left to move in is forward. Attached to that is this notion of aiming or – as I see it – the way in which you move forward. After all, an arrow is sharp and can quickly become the object of fear. Don’t be a scary arrow!

I think this is a lesson many of us could use to learn (or re-learn). Life’s a tough and tricky business; I’d be lying if I said that wasn’t true. At the end of the day, though, the universe is not a hostile, malicious place. If we simply let it do its thing, we will be taken care of just fine.

If this week’s thought is, in fact, true, then we already know our destination… which makes me wonder: why not trust in that and use our energy to enjoy the journey instead?

/jr

One response to “This Thursday’s Thought

  1. Hey Jess,

    Thanks for your post! It reminded me a bit of a quote I stumbled on today:
    “Burn your plans. Your life will not go according to plan, nobody’s ever has. So don’t worry if you get of track. The track was imaginary anyway.”

    It made me feel a little better! I guess maybe we aren’t always in the place we thought we’d be by a certain age, but why does that always have to be a bad thing? Maybe we are in a better place than we thought we’d be? In any case, I agree with you. Why worry about it (easier said than done, I know), but why not just enjoy the journey and trust it’s taking us somewhere fantastic?
    xoxo

Thoughts?

