This Thursday’s Thought

Well, dear readers (if you’re still out there), I guess I took a bit of a summer vacation from blogging. I’ve blogged about flexibility before, but even I will admit the last couple months have been pretty bendy. That’s not to say I haven’t been writing – I have journals bursting with words as testament – but there has been a lot happening that’s best kept private and not made public. C’est la vie.

In a related vein, here’s my thought for this week. For those of you who follow me on Twitter: yes, I know this is a “retweet.” Please forgive me; I can only produce so many ideas at a time.

Never regret. If it’s good, it’s wonderful. If it’s bad, it’s experience. | Victoria Holt

I would even go so far as to say those categories are not mutually exclusive. People, places, and experiences are influenced by our subjective (and often emotions-based) impressions of them, so they shift day to day. However, when you tally up the yea’s and nay’s, what do you find?

Well, in my opinion and from my experience, you find that everything – with time and especially acceptance – boils down to fundamentally wonderful. Yes, even the bad, icky stuff will one day help you to stand taller.

oh, life. (photo cred: Tumblr)

oh, life. (photo cred: Tumblr)

What’s my message, then? Go ahead and make some questionable – but fundamentally wonderful – decisions this weekend. I’m en route to Calgary to spend time with my UB (ultimate buddy) and I couldn’t be happier about it.

To my fellow Canucks: enjoy the long weekend!

/jr

Thoughts?

