This Thursday’s Thought

I recently accepted a promotion at work and found this scribbled down on a piece of scrap paper as I packed up a box to transition over to my new work station:

There are thousands of causes for stress, and one antidote to stress is self-expression. That’s what happens to me every day. My thoughts get off my chest, down my sleeves, and onto my pad.” | Garson Kanin

One major gain from my month abroad was practically unlimited opportunity to self-express. To hike two hours up to a secluded waterfall and write with the Himalayan foothills in plain view was something of a dream. I am forever grateful for the time away to reconnect with letters and words and sentences.

20130606-050813.jpg

The irony of this quote, of course, is that I haven’t blogged now for two Thursdays – a record low for me.

We may not always know how to properly release or manage our stress, and on those days we feel dark and sullen and tend to curl up in bed and draw the covers over our heads. Rather than do that, though, try to muster the energy to de-magnetize yourself from your sheets and do something that lifts you up instead of drags you down. Writing, painting, screaming into your pillow (which I guess technically you could still do from your bed…) – get it out of you and into the world. If there’s one thing I’ve learned, it’s that the universe usually has a funny way of taking care of you.

I’m posting this from the Toronto airport, where I’m in much anticipation of boarding the last leg of my flight en route to my better half, Chelsea. Sometimes I think I need to grow wings so I can save money on flights…

More on my trip(s) later!

/jr

Thoughts?

