This Thursday’s Thought

This Thursday at 5:34AM, my world changed forever.

Welcome to the newest, sweetest man in my life: little Lennon.

(c) jrwritesthings

(c) jrwritesthings

Today is not about me and my excitement, though. It’s about celebrating new beginnings with friends and family and applauding my beautiful pseudo sister-in-law Maile for her strength and perseverance through a long labour to bring 7lbs of wonderful into the world.

To all you women who have journeyed into motherhood and to all those who one day plan to walk that same path: you are queens. Thank you for making such beautiful little babies!

Maile, this quote really spoke to me and I think/hope it does a good job of scratching the surface of what you must be feeling today:

Sometimes when you pick up your child you can feel the map of your own bones beneath your hands, or smell the scent of your skin in the nape of his neck. This is the most extraordinary thing about motherhood – finding a piece of yourself separate and apart that all the same you could not live without. | Jodi Picoult

Don’t worry – I’m not forgetting all the hard work daddies do, too. Congrats to Sean for helping to create such a perfect little person and for offering all your love and support to your new family.

I know this all sounds a little far-out, but I’m pretty sure I’m on a baby high…

Instant unconditional love!

/jr

2 responses to “This Thursday’s Thought

    • Thank you!

      I say that daddies do know one thing (and maybe one thing only!): how to love and support mommy and baby. I think that’s a pretty important piece of the parenthood puzzle.

Thoughts?

