On How I Came to Love the Colour PINK…

I am a far cry from the stereotypical ‘girly girl‘: I’m terrible in heels, the only time I’ve ever worn fake eyelashes was for a Thing 2 (à la Dr. Seuss) Halloween costume, and I don’t understand why peeps abbrev ev word.

It’s not that I actively try not to be girly, though. Honestly, I have a lot of respect and admiration for women who stay upright in six inch stilettos, apply glue mere millimetres from their eyes, and can come up with their own quirky, inventive language. It’s just not who I am.

Women come in all different shapes and sizes, and while some might argue we share a common crazy, I say that uniqueness is beautiful and ought to be shared. So, after 25 years of unconscious resistence, I am going to make public my love for the ultimate girly girl colour: PINK.

Never one to miss an opportunity, I took a gamble and contacted the Art Director for PINK magazine, a Saskatchewan-wide publication featuring the strong, entrepreneurial female spirit in our province. To my delight, I was asked to submit a sample of my work (a big kudos is in order to the Rooster, who have given me an online hub to showcase my writing) and later offered not one, but two features in the April 2013 issue.

very proud to announce I penned this month's "In the Spotlight" and "Everyday Hero" features!

very proud to announce I penned this month’s “In the Spotlight” and “Everyday Hero” features!

As luck (or planning) would have it, that issue is out TODAY! I encourage you to click here to have a read, if not to support my very first print publication (!!!) than to learn about how many difference-makers call Saskatchewan home. We truly are a thriving community and I’m beside myself to be able to share some of our talented women’s stories with you.

After some time-well-wasted on Pinterest, I discovered the magazine isn’t the only thing pink to steal my heart…

a lovely place to keep books. [photo cred: blog.piajanebijkerk.com]

a lovely place to keep books. [photo cred: blog.piajanebijkerk.com]

an absolute divine liancarlo 2013 piece [photo cred: colincowieweddings.com]

an absolute divine liancarlo 2013 piece [photo cred: colincowieweddings.com]

tasty breast cancer awareness! [photo cred: http://jennycookies.com]

tasty breast cancer awareness! [photo cred: http://jennycookies.com%5D

Many thanks are in order: to the hard-working staff at PINK (c/o Compass Advertising) who took a chance on an admitted newbie to the world of journalism; to Denise Heppner, whose Freedom Climb is truly a human feat; to the endearing ladies of the Prairie Gold Chorus who give new life to Barbershop music; and to all of you for your love and support. I am but one small link in a beautiful chain of human beings.

Feeling all kinds of girl (em)powered!

/jr

4 responses to “On How I Came to Love the Colour PINK…

  1. Great article Jess! You write extremely well – which can be a rarity in many publications these days… There’s no doubt this is just the beginning for your writing 🙂 Let me know if you are interested in any other contacts who might accept freelance work, I still have some connections floating around from my time at Mercy Ships.

    • That is a huge compliment coming from you! And YES, I’d love if you shared any contact information/details on opportunities with me. Send me a message when you have a few minutes to spare! Thanks for being such a wonderful, supportive friend… I’m so grateful the island brought you into my life!

Thoughts?

