Twenty-Five for Twenty-Five: An Update

Remember that Twenty-Five for Twenty-Five list I shared with you all in early November?

I sure do.

Now, I know I said I’d be making a special post as I ticked items off the list (yes, that’s still my one-day-but-not-today plan), but for now I thought I’d share a quick update on where each mini-goal is at:

  1. COOK A TURKEY.
    No birds in the oven yet. (No buns, either!) Now that we’re coming into spring, I think this will have to wait until the fall.
  2. VISIT A NEW COUNTRY.
    In December 2012 I relished in my very first Mexicoma when Michael and I spent a week at the family condo in Huatulco, Mexico. After almost five years dating into a family that owns and operates a travel agency, it’s hard to believe it took me this long to make that trip! I will also be spending three weeks backpacking through India this May with my brother and sister (with a brief stop-over in Frankfurt, Germany), so I can technically cross this one off three times. Believe me, I recognize how fortunate I am and I hope this wanderlust never wears off.

    the pool at the condo complex... AKA paradise | Huatulco, Mexico (December 2012)

    the pool at the condo complex… AKA paradise | Huatulco, Mexico (December 2012)

  3. LEARN TO KNIT.
    Still in the process of learning – no thanks to the barely audible grannies on YouTube. My knitting supplies taunt me from my home office every time I set foot in there. If you’d like to volunteer your time for a “Knitting for Dummies” tutorial, consider me an eager, willing student.
  4. READ TWENTY-FIVE BOOKS.
    At last count I was up around 13 books, so I don’t expect I’ll have troubles checking this off by November. You can follow my progress via my Goodreads account – it’s social media for bookworms! 
  5. PURCHASE A DESIGNER ACCESSORY OR PIECE OF CLOTHING
    When I came on as a blogger for The Rooster, I opted for payment in the form of store credit versus cash. My goal? To post my way to the rose gold Michael Kors watch pictured here. Welcome home, my pretty.
    IMG_8670
  6. GO WHITE-WATER RAFTING.
    I’m afraid this one may remain un-struck this year, and for good reason. Here we are in March, and I can tell you without so much as glancing at a calendar that virtually every weekend between June and September is reserved for stagettes, showers, and weddings. It looks like I’ll be trading in my oar for a summer filled with toonie bars and barefoot dancing, and I’m more than O.K. with that!
  7. RUN A 10K.
    With something like 7 feet of snow throughout this hellish, hyper-extended winter, my outdoor running plans have been – for the most part – squandered by extreme windchill warnings. The commitment to this goal still stands, though, with huge thanks to Mike McDonald, runner and coach extraordinaire.
  8. SUBMIT AT LEAST ONE PIECE FOR PUBLICATION. WHETHER IT IS ACCEPTED OR NOT IS OF NO CONSEQUENCE.
    On February 1, 2013 I submitted a piece of creative non-fiction to the CBC Canada Writes competition. Shortlist announcements aren’t expected until June or July, and while I’d go ga-ga to hear I’m on that list, the fact that I put myself via my words out there is accomplishment enough for me.
  9. GO TO A MUSIC FESTIVAL.
    This year you will find me at the 2013 Sasquatch! Festival in George, WA. Less than 24 hours after I return home to Canada from India, I will be back on the road to the USA with a car full of tenting gear and some of my best friends to spend four days soaking up music from artists like The Postal Service, Mumford and Sons, The Tallest Man on Earth, etc. Lucky, lucky me.
  10. TAKE A COOKING CLASS.
    For an alternative date night, I signed Michael and I up for an East Indian cooking class c/o Simon’s Fine Foods here in Saskatoon. We loved it (and by “it” I do mean the home-made Naan bread)! Little did I know that months later I’d be traveling to experience that cuisine firsthand!
  11. CRAFT MY OWN CHRISTMAS CARDS.
    There are iPhone photos as proof, and both mine and Michael’s families can attest that this year’s Christmas cards came from the heart, not Carlton Cards. Let’s maybe not comment on quality, though…
  12. RECLAIM AN OLD PIECE OF FURNITURE.
    Our garage has yet to warm either of our vehicles; it’s too busy hosting more than its fair share of recyclables, along with a vintage bookcase I’m planning to sand and re-paint. I splurged on the sweetest knobs and hope to have this one finished for summer!
  13. LEARN TO [FINALLY] PLAY GUITAR.
    My beautiful baby sits unloved in the basement. I owe her some new strings and a great deal of my time. 
  14. PRACTICE MINDFULNESS MEDITATION
    For the month of January, I managed to con our roommate Kari to join me in a four-week mindfulness meditation course. Our teacher is a friend of mine and is exquisite to work with. Outside of some minor gains (i.e., I engrained in myself the habit of mindful driving), I was far from a star pupil. Silence conquers me. I have yet to conquer it back.
  15. TAKE UP A NEW SPORT.
    After eight years off the slopes, I tried my hand at snowboarding and managed to tear my hamstring in the first few runs. It was much to be expected that I’m better suited for apres-ski than ski itself. Significant gains in the way of hot yoga, though! I have discovered confidence and strength I never thought possible, and vow to keep my commitment to it even through the hot, sticky Saskatchewan summers.
  16. BUY A BICYCLE.
    As soon as the snow clears, I’m in the market for a two-wheeler!
  17. RIDE IN A HOT AIR BALLOON.
    No leads on this one yet, although my sister’s boyfriend did work as a balloon chaser last summer...
  18. JOIN A WRITING GROUP.
    More than once, a co-worker of mine has put forth the suggestion of attending a local writers group. More than once, I’ve chickened out. 
  19. GET A MAKEOVER.
    With seven weddings on the horizon this summer, I fully expect to put a checkmark next to this before November rolls around.
  20. BUILD-A-BEAR!
    I thought this one was a gimme, but so far I only seem to bring home clothes, shoes, and non-plush accessories from the mall. Maybe it has something to do with the optics of a 25 year-old venturing solo into a Build-a-Bear shop? 
  21. PERFECT THE ART OF EGGS BENNY
    I have collected a few recipes, but no headway here (yet). Kari did show me this life hack which blew my mind and will ultimately make perfecting the Benny much, much easier. 
  22. HAVE A TEA LEAF READING DONE.
    My searches in the Saskatoon area for this service have been fruitless. Any tips, fellow Saskatchewanians?
  23. FINISH A JIGSAW PUZZLE. (Anja, this one’s for you.)
    We inherited a very old kitchen table that is now set-up in our unfinished basement. Atop said table is the completed border of a puzzle – though little else. It looks like I’ll need Anja to come stay for a weekend to lend a hand…
  24. EXPLORE NORTHERN SASKATCHEWAN.
    So far, my provincial travels have only taken me south to my hometown of Regina. A few of this year’s weddings will allow me to see a bit of what Northern Saskatchewan has to offer, though.
  25. BUY A DSLR CAMERA AND LEARN HOW TO USE IT.
    My Merry Christmas to myself consisted of a Nikon d3200. Since then, I have been experimenting with the camera and gaining very slow-but-steady confidence in my ability to shoot. I hope to have some quality shots from India to mount on our walls here at home.

7 down, 18 to go… not bad!

I’ve had a few friends pay me the ultimate compliment and commit themselves to similar wish lists. I want to give a special nod to Lauren, whose blog (“13 Things to Keep a New Mommy Sane”) continually reminds me of the importance of health and self-care. Keep up the awesome work, girl!

For the rest of you readers out there: any goals you’ve stuck to/are sticking to that you’d like to share? I’d love to read what others have committed to, whether it’s for the year 2013, a “Before-I-Die” Bucket List, or a personal manifesto to get you through the tough days.

Keep calm and carry on!

/jr

4 responses to “Twenty-Five for Twenty-Five: An Update

  1. Pingback: 26 New Things During My Year of Being 26 | Strangeness & Charm·

  2. Get thee a DSLR camera…trust me, you won’t believe how much inspiration you will find to create–anything and everything–when you adjust your eye to the lens.

    I don’t know how many times I have come home from a photographic neighbourhood walk-about and had a dozen or more ideas to explore.

    And best of luck on the rest of your list…sounds like fun!

    Randy

    • A sincere thank-you for the feedback! It is quite timely, actually, as I’ve spent most of my afternoon orienting myself to all the technical bits of shooting.

      My Nikon will be close by my side as I backpack through India this May. If a neighbourhood photo tour can evoke that much inspiration, I can only imagine what the colours and sights of India will bring.

      Take care!

      /jr

Thoughts?

