This Thursday’s Thought

With a new passport in tow, I am now on the official countdown to three weeks in Northern India with my brother and sister.

To all my coworkers: no, I have not “checked out” of work just yet. …give it a couple of weeks.

On this day last year, our Thaisland crew ferried from the lacklustre island of Koh Phi Phi to Koh Lanta, a space that stole and still keeps a piece of my heart. The girls and I sought out a local spa and treated ourselves to our first Thai massages. No happy endings here, folks, only a slight fear my back would never recover from such aggressive, vigorous twisting and cranking.

the peaceful view from the porch of our spa | koh lanta, thailand (march 2012)

the peaceful view from the porch of our spa | koh lanta, thailand (march 2012)

I’m not here to tell stories (although if you get me started, I may never stop), but to share a quick thought with you for this week:

No matter where in the world you find yourself today, make it a vacation.

…or a staycation, I guess.

When we first hit the one-year anniversary of our backpacking departure date, I found myself bitter and resentful for choosing to buy a home and do the “get-a-big-kid-job-and-settle-down” thing. That is, until I realized that even Saskatchewan – a province that puts on its winter coat a little too early and sheds it way too late – can be an adventure.

Find a way to play today. After all, what are we but big little kids?

/jr

Thoughts?

