This Thursday’s Thought

Yesterday I learned that January 10th is the “it” day to leave your infant New Year’s resolution out in the cold. (If you’re in Saskatchewan, you’ll know that’s a fatal decision, since it’s really, really cold here.) I imagine this stat grew from confession after confession from Joe and Joanne Blow about when they decided the gym was “too crowded” and that life was not worth living without a daily Starbucks fix. If it’s true that a habit takes 21 days to form, this stat tells me we tend to quit at the half-way mark. What a tragic disappointment.

Fortunately, I’ve kept true to my 25-for-25 resolutions (although I’ve been terrible at updating them on the blog, and for that I apologize) that I made in lieu of New Year’s resolutions. I want to take today to extend a huge CONGRATULATIONS to those of you who continue to stand by whatever commitment you made this year. You have officially passed the 21-day mark and are on your way to whatever it is you want to do or whoever it is you want to be.

In the spirit of honouring commitments, I enrolled Mike and I in an East Indian cooking course this evening to check off #10 on my list. A unique date night and home-made Naan bread? Um…
YES PLEASE. Just thinking about it takes me back to all the aromatic, flavourful Muslim food that filled our bellies through Malaysia and Singapore…

20130124-145919.jpg

More to come!

/jr

Thoughts?

