This Thursday’s Thought

This Thursday’s thought comes to you from Huatulco, Mexico (on the Pacific countryside), where I am unashamedly lounging on the patio, ready for my afternoon siesta. Mike and I are two days in to our weeklong hot holiday, but I made a commitment to post each week and intend to honour that commitment no matter where in the world I find myself.

Because this trip marks my first check mark off my 25 for 25 list (visit a new country), expect a more fleshed out post in the future. …that is, provided I don’t decide to throw away reality and settle into this tiny slice of paradise.

In the meantime, however, I wanted to share with you a bit of Buddhism. This morning I was out of bed by 6:30am (I sure know how to relax…) and on foot for an hour with four wonderful women from the condo complex en route to The Yoga Studio, an open concept studio in Santa Cruz nestled between an artisan shop and a turtle pond. Yogi Susan James (an ex-pat from California) lead a 90-minute Hatha practice and closed with the following Buddhist teaching:

20121213-185303.jpg

As a bee seeks nectar from all kinds of flowers, seek teachings everywhere.

Like a deer that seeks a quiet place to graze, seek solitude to digest all that you have gathered.

Like a mad-one who knows no limits, go where you please. And live like a lion, completely free from all fear.

I think I will go seek some pool-side solitude…

20121213-185242.jpg

More to come!

/jr

Thoughts?

