Twenty-Five for Twenty-Five

I’ve learned that twenty-five has a much different vantage point when you’re in it and not looking forward to it. As a little girl, I always dreamt of twenty-five not as a year, but as the year. I’d be married, published, with child and with my name in lights.

Other than published, the rest I most certainly am not. And that’s okay. I do, however, have regrets of letting my dolphin trainer pipe dream go. Honestly, is there anything cuter than this?

let’s trade lives, please.

Rather than sit here and lament, I thought I’d give the finger to my childish misinterpretation of age and find twenty-five other things to tackle this year instead. As I check them off the list (and believe me, I plan to), I will link to a post detailing the highs and woes.

life is better in lists.

I’m already 18 days into my twenty-fifth year, so let’s get listing:

  1. Cook a turkey.
  2. Visit a new country.
  3. Learn to knit.
  4. Read twenty-five books. 
  5. Purchase a designer accessory or piece of clothing.
  6. Go white water rafting.
  7. Run a 10K.
  8. Submit at least one piece for publication. Whether it is accepted or not is of no consequence.
  9. Go to a music festival.
  10. Take a cooking class.
  11. Craft my own Christmas cards. 
  12. Reclaim an old piece of furniture.
  13. Learn to [finally] play guitar.
  14. Practice mindfulness meditation.
  15. Take up a new sport. 
  16. Buy a bicycle.
  17. Ride in a hot air balloon.
  18. Join a writing group.
  19. Get a makeover.
  20. Build-a-Bear!
  21. Perfect the art of Eggs Benny.
  22. Have a tea leaf reading done.
  23. Finish a jigsaw puzzle. (Anja, this one’s for you.)
  24. Explore Northern Saskatchewan.
  25. Buy an SLR camera and learn how to use it.

And there you have it: a list fit for a Type A.

I’d love to hear of any “life lists” (bucket or otherwise) you’ve been keeping. My suggestion: get it out into the blogosphere and make yourself accountable for your future.

…now all that’s left is to start.

/jr

 

8 responses to “Twenty-Five for Twenty-Five

  1. ? Honest ? Sad ? Accepting ?

    Not sure what is are the sentiments conveyed?

    Great list … Other than white water rafting I could claim list as being full of things I am interested in!

    Take care, Love, Mom

  2. Pingback: This Thursday’s Thought | jrwritesthings·

  3. Jess! I love this. I am inspired and now creating a 25 for 25 list… except I think I will make mine a lifetime list. I especially love #25 on your list. I can’t wait to see what your creativity brings out through the DSLR!

  4. Pingback: This Thursday | jrwritesthings·

  5. Pingback: This Thursday’s Thought | jrwritesthings·

  6. Pingback: Twenty-Five for Twenty-Five: An Update | jrwritesthings·

  7. Pingback: This Thursday’s Thought | jrwritesthings·

Thoughts?

