Welcome to NaNoWriMo 2012

I have a love/hate relationship with the month of November. Here’s why:

  • I’m a Novembaby. This generally means good food and drinks in great company, but it also means I’m getting older. I’m not so sure I want to do that for much longer; I’d like to try getting younger instead. It also means I have to be reminded of the reality that I am likely the product of a sappy Valentine’s Day card and a box of wine and/or chocolate. (Thanks nonetheless, mom and dad!) 
  • It’s Movember. My dad is a prostate cancer survivor, so I could and would never dissuade someone from growing a fuzzy muzzy to raise money for research and awareness. On the flip side, my baby-faced baby will soon become another victim of the teen stache epidemic. Check out all the Canuck mo’s here. If you do choose to donate (whether it’s your spare change or your laughter), know that my family and the families of those who were not so fortunate to survive this cancer have a deep appreciation for your participation.

    fuzzy muzzy | photo cred: http://www.etsy.com

  • It’s National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo). I’ve loved the idea of NaNoWriMo since I stumbled upon it years ago, but I’ve never had the guts to participate. Allow me to explain…

For those of you who don’t know, this “novel bingeing” started in the San Fran area in 1999. After surviving Y2K (and many years after), this small ripple has grown into a tidal wave.

The objective? To provide a universal pat on the back to aspiring, amateur, and professional writers to sink their teeth into a novel and emerge from what might otherwise be literary solitude on December 1st with 50,000 words (that’s about 175 pages) of a novel in tow. The point is to let the words flow and resist the naggy wife in your brain telling you to stop, review, and revise. In 2011, about 250,000 people got out their ball-point pens (AKA Macbook Pros) and produced a staggering 150 MILLION+ WORDS!

As you can imagine, being an editor makes the whole premise of this writing exercise terrifying and an ultimate test of my very comfy comfort zone.

For now I’m quite content with my blogs and other freelance work I’ve commissioned, but one year I will join this elite assemblage of creatives. To those of you whose “one year” is this year: you have my adoration, envy, and – most importantly – my support.

you go, glen coco! | underwater high-fives c/o http://beautifullydecaying.tumblr.com

If you have any links, tips, or personal NaNoWriMo experiences you’d like to share, please be encouraged to do so! I poked around the WWW (World Wide WordPress) and found a few bloggers who’ve set off on their respective NaNoWriMo journeys:

Have a look and then get back to work! There are brief, fleeting words that need to be captured and transcribed.

/jr

2 responses to “Welcome to NaNoWriMo 2012

Thoughts?

