This Thursday’s Thought

An alliterative thought this week: Learn to love lazy.

Easier said than done for some of us, right?

After a week spent moving, unpacking, and organizing virtually all facets of my life, I’ve made the conscious decision to do as little as possible this week outside of my work day. I’ve treated myself to home-cooked meals with Mike, actually finished one of the six books I have on the go (Sarah’s Key by Tatiana de Rosnay – not my favourite book but the two parallel stories are eloquently wound together), and “window-shopping” on-line for all things New York Fashion Week. I pine…

Some of you may scoff and say, “Well, that’s hardly a committed artist.” To that I say you’re wrong. It is often the case that emphasis is (incorrectly) placed on quantity over quality, and I seek to challenge that in this week’s thought. As creatives we have gift and skill that – granted – is inspired by our surroundings, but it is ultimately generated from within. When you take the time to re-connect with yourself instead of catering to deadlines and the needs of others, your work regains that element of you that can sometimes go astray.

Grab a glass of vino and take the night off – you’ve earned it!

nothing but peace and calm | ko lanta, thailand | march 2012

/jr

Thoughts?

