DIY ‘Love Birds’ Gift Wrap

This past weekend we celebrated the [long overdue] marriage of Holly and Denny. Holly and I have been best friends for years and are part of a tight-knit group of five. Once you get to know us you soon learn we are five very distinct personalities that work in best-friendly harmony. I’m being honest when I say I don’t know where I’d be without the unique love and support from Holly, Sarah, Layla, and Anja – they are my rocks! (You too, Mike.)

Holly’s rustic vintage wedding reception was so beautiful it deserves its own blog post, but I wanted to quickly share the DIY gift wrap I crafted for her and Denny’s wedding gift on behalf of the rest of our friend-family.

20120827-141814.jpg

I’ll confess: sometimes I judge a book by its cover, even though I know I shouldn’t. As much as I can try to resist it, I am drawn to a certain aesthetic. To me, the way you wrap a gift should reflect the same TLC that went into choosing the gift itself.

Here’s what you need to create your own personalized gift wrap for the love birds in your life:

· Kraft paper
· Ribbon (I chose both a thick and thin ribbon to layer one on top of the other)
· Paper doilies
· Stencils (You can free-hand too, of course)
· Permanent marker
· Craft birds (The figures I bought had a small length of wire at the end of each foot to secure them to your gift wrap; if this is missing, a glue gun or double-sided tape would suffice)

The best part is that everything on this list I found at a dollar store nearby. Beauty can be cost-effective!

What’s also great about this DIY is its simplicity. Secure your ribbon around the Kraft paper wrapping (I chose to staple them at the bottom, but you could just as easily tie them into a creative bow), fasten the bird figures through the ribbon and packaging paper to hold in place, and stencil direct onto the wrapping.

As you can see, the love birds loved the love birds! (Aren’t they the cutest?!)

20120827-141806.jpg

A successful D-I-Y for a wonderful D-A-Y!

Congratulations, Holly and Denny. We love you!

/jr

2 responses to “DIY ‘Love Birds’ Gift Wrap

Thoughts?

