This Thursday’s Thought

I have to give credit to last Friday for this Thursday’s thought: change is good.

I spent the entire morning on Friday with Kirsten, one of my first and closest friends I’ve made since moving to Saskatoon. This isn’t unusual, per se, save for the fact that our friend date involved taking her to chop off her effortlessly cute blonde hair to donate for cancer. The bonus? She emerged three and a half hours later (seriously, the girl had hair!) a vision of chic and class.

20120726-150642.jpg

Props go to Lauren Brewster at Lavish Hair Boutique and Blowout Bar, who transformed this beachy blonde into a Hollywood starlet. If you’re ever in Saskatoon and in need of hair care (and even if you’re not), check them out on Facebook.

What I took away from this experience is threefold:

a) I have beautiful and inspiring friends – then again, I already knew this.

b) Hair is not just hair – it’s a luxury, and one that most of us take for granted. We are graced with the choice to keep it or cut it, while others have been robbed of that very choice by illness.

c) Change is good and, in many ways, positively contagious. Take risks, even when the guarantee of a reward isn’t there.

I hope this inspires those of you who are “playing it safe” this week to challenge yourself as it did for me. I went out on a limb and locked in a major freelancing gig – details to follow!

Keep creating.

/jr

Thoughts?

