TDP: Hindsight (And so it begins… Again)

Let’s see if the third time really is a charm…

Here is the daily prompt for December 3rd, 2012:

Now that you’ve got some blogging experience under your belt, re-write your very first post.

When I look to my very first post, it’s little more than a “Hi, nice to meet you!” formality. BORING. I don’t think it was a matter of not having anything to say, but having anxiety about how best to say it.

I suppose that’s an effective way to let the world know you’re a Type A perfectionist…

I’ve been a writer all my life, but in the past I tended to gravitate towards projects and jobs that allowed me to place some distance between my innermost self and the words I produced. While launching my freelance business this summer, I knew I had one tough bit of homework to tackle: I had to challenge this comfort zone and create a space where my authentic self was out for view/review/judgement in the e-niverse.

Here is a re-print of my inaugural post with five months’ worth of hindsight and my editor’s eye. Hopefully this go-around will give a better-tasting sample of who I am and what I’m all about.

Enjoy!

And so it begins… AGAIN.

20121203-145822.jpg

We all have dreams.

Some of us want to become astronauts.

Some of us want to break a McDonald’s World Record. (I’m disturbed this actually exists…)

Some of us want to solve world hunger… and would probably not get along with the previous “some of us”…

Me? I want to write.

So here I am. Writing. Right now.

Welcome to my dream come true.

/jr

One response to “TDP: Hindsight (And so it begins… Again)

  1. Pingback: Reflections: In Hindsight, Optimism Prevails… | Mirth and Motivation·

Thoughts?