TDP: An Offer I Couldn’t Refuse

I am Jim Carrey’s female counterpart. I am a “Yes Woman” for the next ten minutes.

If you offer me the opportunity to jump out of a plane, I will take it… provided I’ve got a parachute. I can’t say I won’t have expectations about breaking both my legs as I land, but what I wouldn’t give to cast off my weight – physical, emotional, psychological – and have nothing on my agenda but to float.

20121127-115153.jpg

If you offer me the opportunity to learn to salsa dance, I will take it. I am left-footed in much the same way that I’m left-handed, but a sultry Spanish accent and bold, punchy colors will seduce me into just about anything. (I said just about anything.)

If you offer me the opportunity to walk over hot coals, I will take it. I will think of it not as pain, but as hot yoga for my feet. I will take control of my body and work with the forces of nature instead of against them. Warmth is a basic human need, so why must we put stones between it and us? I will put the stones beneath me instead.

If you offer me the opportunity to read a piece of my work aloud to an audience of thousands, I will take it. I will transform that lump of fear in my throat into a megaphone to amplify the passion in my heart, to share what I have to say with the world.

If you offer me the opportunity to love without reservation, without pretense, and without condition, I will take it. I will resist the urge to fill in the cracks that are my imperfections and flaws and instead incorporate them into my human design. I will share myself with another self and let that be enough.

If you offer me the opportunity to go to dinner alone, I will take it… provided you haven’t stood me up. I will endure the perceived awkwardness and the pity we feel when we see a lone body in a restaurant. I will enjoy a meal with my thoughts. So often we nourish our minds and our bodies separate. I will spend time tending to both together.

Thirty seconds remaining. Deep down I recognize all of these opportunities are things that you need not offer me, because I can offer them to myself.

It looks like today’s post c/o the latest Daily Prompt is all about empowerment, so… go get empowered!

/jr

3 responses to “TDP: An Offer I Couldn’t Refuse

Thoughts?

