TDP: Connecting the Dots (with Serendipity)

Providence is a peculiar thing. Sometimes the universe opens its arms to wrap you in a big ol’ hug and whispers in your ear, “Hey, quit doubting me. I’m real, and I’m wonderful.”

Today is all kinds of Serendipity (circa 2001) for me.

May I please be blessed with the body of Kate Beckinsale and please be spared from having to ever kiss John Cusack.

The Daily Post was my first WordPress follow and should be your next if it’s not on your Reader already.

Here is today’s writing prompt:

Open your nearest book to page 82. Take the third full sentence on the page, and work it into a post somehow.

The book: Aleph” by Paulo Coelho.

I was inexplicably drawn to this book back in April while exploring the Singapore airport (a thing of unrivaled beauty; click here to read our thoughts), but opted not to purchase it as my pack was too full to accommodate even 12 ounces of book. (Yep, that’s a hard stat.)

Today, with a smile on my face, I now understand my compulsion to read Aleph:

P.82, 3rd sentence: “Is it difficult to write?” he asks.

Since I’ve started freelancing, this is a question I’ve been posed more than once. What’s interesting is I have yet to field this question without an apparent sub-text skulking in the corner.

Sometimes “Is it difficult to write?” means: “I know it’s tough and I’m not willing to do the work, so… you should do it for me.”

Sometimes “Is it difficult to write?” means: “Quit bitching about your job. We all write. It’s simple.”

And other times “Is it difficult to write?” really means: “Help me! I want to learn.”

It’s easy to guess which one I’m most receptive to. How would YOU answer the question?

I did a little digging (AKA I bee-lined for Wikipedia) and found this bit about Coelho I thought appropriate to include:

As a teenager, Coelho wanted to become a writer. Upon telling his mother this, she responded with, “My dear, your father is an engineer. He’s a logical, reasonable man with a clear vision of the world. Do you actually know what it means to be a writer?” After researching, Coelho concluded that a writer “always wear glasses and never combs his hair” and has a “duty and an obligation never to be understood by his own generation,” among other things.

Kudos, Paulo. You are on the mark:

why see with two eyes when you can see better with four?

Today I am especially happy to be a part of the global WordPress family and to share this truly wonderful universe with you. Write on, writers!

/jr

PS – Even the greatest writers are in the blogosphere! Click here to tour Coelho’s piece of e-real estate.

Thoughts?

